NATIONAL COAL COUNCIL 2019 ANNUAL SPRING MEETING SUMMARY OF MEETING

April 11-12, 2019

The National Coal Council convened for its annual spring meeting, which was held pursuant to Notice and Invitation at the Virginia Room, Marriott Wardman Park Hotel in Washington D.C., commencing on April 11, 2019, at 8:03 p.m. ET and continuing on April 12, 2019, at 8:30 a.m. ET.

Attendees

For a complete breakdown of attendance, see Appendix A.

Day 1:

Opening Address

Steve Winberg, Assistant Secretary for Fossil Energy, U.S. Department of Energy, gave the opening address. He remarked on the release of the Power Reset report that had been released since the last meeting. He also commented on upcoming efforts to strengthen coal's position in the nation's energy economy.

Keynote Presentation

Mary Neumayr, Chair, White House Council on Environmental Quality, provided the keynote presentation. She provided background on the Council on Environmental Quality, noting its core responsibilities to oversee NEPA (National Environmental Policy Act) implementation, advise the president on environmental policy, and participate in Office of Implementation and Regulatory Affairs review. She then covered the administration's priorities to promote economic growth and environmental protection simultaneously.

Closing Remarks

Steve Winberg adjourned the first night of the meeting at 8:45 p.m., to reconvene the following day.

Day 2:

Call to Order

Steve Winberg called the meeting back to order April 12, 2020, at 8:30 a.m. He noted that the NCC was celebrating its 35-year anniversary.

Antitrust Advisory

Fred Eames, with Hunton, Andrews, & Kurth provided the Antitrust Advisory. Attendees are not to discuss prices, costs, margins, designs or other information. The full contents of the advisory are in the complete transcript, and a copy of the understanding is also available.

Motion

Steve Winberg requested a motion to adopt the agenda. Clark Harrison provided the first motion, Dan Roling provided the second motion, and the agenda was adopted without opposition.

Keynote Presentation

Mark Menezes, Under Secretary of Energy, gave a keynote address to discuss what DOE is doing and what it plans to do with regards to the American coal industry. Mark Menezes then laid out DOE's strategy for supporting coal.

Chair/Vice Chair Selection

Members received ballots for electing a new chair and vice chair of NCC.

Coal in National Security

Seth Schwartz, President of EVA, gave a presentation on coal's role in national security.

Election of new NCC Chair and Vice-Chair

Steve Winberg presided over the election of the new NCC Chair and Vice Chair. Danny Gray was voted as the new NCC chair and Randy Atkins as vice chair. Both accepted.

Industry Presentations

- Bill West, of Arq Limited presented about extracting microfine carbon from coal waste for use in other fuels.
- Nicola Ferralis, a research scientist in the Department of Materials, Science, and Engineering at MIT, presented "Harnessing the Value of Carbon: Novel Applications of Coal to Carbon Products." Discussion centered around uses of coal that are not for fuel, but are instead as a material in other products, including electronics, filtration, and other uses.
- Peter Reineck, a consultant with ITEA, presented "Improving Coal Power Economics: Retrofitting Flameless Pressurized Oxy-Combustion with Integral CO2 Capture" Discussion centered around affordable carbon capture technology.

Public Comment

No comments were made in person.

Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 11:55 a.m. ET

I hereby certify that, to the best of my knowledge, the foregoing minutes are accurate and complete. The minutes were completed after-the-fact based on transcription of the spring 2017 National Coal Council Meeting.

om Sartus

8/13/20

Deputy Designated Federal Officer #1 National Coal Council

Joseph Giove III Deputy Designated Federal Officer #2 National Coal Council

Ze Drove III 8/14/20

APPENDIX A – ATTENDEES

Present

Thomas Adams Robert Agbede **Bud Albright** Sy Ali Tom Alley Barbara Altizer Brian Anderson Donna Anderson **Rodney Andrews** Shannon Angielski **Randall Atkins Richard Bajura** Martin Baker Shannon Banaga Wendy Beach Jacqueline Bird Michelle Bloodworth John Boling **Rick Boyd** Lisa Bradley Jimmy Brock Dylan Brown **Charles Bullinger** Dan Byers Mark Carr John Cassady Leland Cogliani Don Collins Dan Connell Steve Conway Brad Crabtree Bubba Davis David Denton Dr. Vic Derr Katherine Dombrowski Cyril Draffin **Rich Duafala** John Duddy George Duggan Michael Durham **Frederick Eames** Rod Eggert Ron Eller Jennifer Enos Jeff Erikson

Alexander Fassbender Nicola Ferralis John Fischer David Flannery **Daniel Fort** Janet Gellici **Bob Gentile** Joe Giove Sheila Glesmann Danny Gray Neeraj Gupta Tyler Hamman John Harju Jeremy Harrell **Clark Harrison** William Heitfeld **Robert Hershey** Patricia Hicks Roy Hill **Bill Hoback** Richard Hoggan Mike Holmes Lou Hrkman Dennis James Kim Johnson Michael Kaplan Casey Kaptur Shawn Kelly Matthew Key Angelos Kokkinos Steve Krimsky Holly Krutka Patricia Loria Heath Lovell Robert Mannes Leonard Marsico Doug Matheny Charles McConnell Mike McKenna **Charles McNeil Emily Medine** Mark W. Menezes **Gregory Merle** Allison Mills Rafic Minkara Nancy Mohn Mason Moseley Mike Mosser

Chris Myers Ram Narula Mike Nasi Stephen Nelson Ken Nemeth Mary Neumayr **Brian Norris** Karen Obenshain Jerry Oliver Justin Ong Fred Palmer John Parkes **Caryl Pfeiffer** Lucas Pipes Sarma Pisupati **Eille Potter Robert Purgert** Peter Reineck Andy Roberts **Rachel Rogier** Daniel Roling **Charlene Russell** Heath Sampson **Ted Sanders Tom Sarkus** Todd Savage Dan Schneider John Schultes Seth Schwartz Fadi Shadid Sharon Sjostrom George Skoptsov Deck Slone **Charles Snavely** Michelle Sneed Mike Sorensen Scott Stallard Judd Swift Scott Teel Shane Tereamana John Thompson Brian Thompson Osamu Usui Sarah Wade Daman Walia **Bill West** Kazuko White Kemal Williamson

Steven Winberg Richard Wolfe Jon Wood Greg Workman Barry Worthington