# National Coal Council

## Webcast on NCC Report "Coal in a New Carbon Age"

# **Summary of Meeting**

May 15, 2019

The National Coal Council convened a webcast/meeting at 11:30 a.m. ET on May 15, 2019. This meeting was presented online via WebEx.

#### Attendees

For a complete breakdown of attendance, see Appendix A.

#### **Call to Order/Opening Remarks**

Tom Sarkus convened the meeting as a representative of ASFE Steve Winberg, who was unable to attend. Based on attendance, there was a quorum for this meeting.

## **Public Comment Notification**

Per FACA regulations, time was saved at the end of this call for a public comment period. The federal register notice stated that if anyone from the public wished to have a statement read or to comment during this meeting, they would be given the opportunity. Tom Sarkus affirmed that there were no written or verbal statements.

#### **Legal Counsel Statement**

Eric Hutchens noted that membership in the NCC confers no immunity to federal or state anti-trust laws. He stated that the Security and Exchange Commission has set up general anti-trust guidelines and that those guidelines would be followed during the meeting. If those guidelines were strayed from, any member should interrupt so legal counsel could be sought.

#### **Poll Voting Explanation**

Tom Sarkus explained the poll voting for the webcast, and he then explained that questions from NCC members would be entertained after the presentation and that members would be able to submit supplementary information or points of clarification after the report. This was for members who agreed with the majority of the report while allowing for some smaller points of contention which did not amount to requiring a "no" vote on report acceptance.

## **Report Presentation**

Randall Atkins thanked the hosts of the event and presented the report "Coal in a New Carbon Age." Report preparation took over seven months, and involved nearly 40 members of the NCC. All work was done in accordance with FACA regulations. He then presented the presentation via PowerPoint. The report discussed the possibility for a "New Age of Carbon" which could see increased opportunity for coal behind traditional markets (those of power generation and the creation of steel). New uses for carbon include advanced manufacturing and new products from coal. The report discussed significant economic and environmental benefits that may arise from pursuit of new uses of carbon. Randall Atkins finished the presentation and indicated that he would receive questions.

## **Question and Answer Segment**

Janet Gelicci stated that there were no questions received.

## Vote

NCC members were informed that the vote would be either "for accepting the finalization of the document," "against finalization of the document," or "abstaining from voting." Due to technical issues, some votes were to be cast by email. The vote went in favor of finalizing the report. For a breakdown of how each member voted, please see Appendix B.

# Adjournment

Tom Sarkus thanked everyone on behalf of the Department of Energy. He then adjourned the meeting at 11:58 a.m. ET.

I hereby certify that, to the best of my knowledge, the foregoing minutes are accurate and complete. The minutes were completed after-the-fact based on the audio recording Webcast on NCC Report "Coal in a New Carbon Age."

Tom Sartus

Thomas Sarkus

Deputy Designated Federal Officer #1

National Coal Council

Ze Drove III

8/14/20

8/13/20

Joseph Giove III

Deputy Designated Federal Officer #2

National Coal Council

#### **APPENDIX A – ATTENDEES**

## Attendees

Sy Ali

Barbara Altizer

Donna Anderson

**Rodney Andrews** 

Duane Ankney

**Randall Atkins** 

Richard Axelbaum

**Richard Bajura** 

Shannon Banaga

Bob Bibb

Jacqueline Bird

Michelle Bloodworth

Rick Boyd

Lisa JN Bradley

James Branscomb

Alfred Brown

F. William Brownell

Wanda Burget

Frank Burke

Karen Capasso

John Cassady

Kipp Coddington

Stephen Conway

Donald Cotchen

Hans Daniels

Kaeci Daniels

Sujit Das

David Denton

Katherine Dombrowski

John Duddy

Frederick Eames

Rod Eggert

Jeff Erikson

Maohong Fan

Nicola Ferralis

**Robert Finley** 

David Flannery

Shawn Flynn

Yuan Gao

Janet Gellici

Joe Giove

Sheila Glesmann

Evan Granite

Danny Gray

Tyler Hamman

John Harju

Bill Hoback

**Eric Hutchins** 

Marty Irwin

Dennis James

Kim Johnson

Ayaka Jones

Michael Jones

Casey Kaptur

Michael Klein

Steven Krimsky

Holly Krutka

Vello Kuuskraa

Taylor Kuykendall

Edgar Lara-Curzio

David Lawson

Stephen Lee

Heath Lovell

**Robert Mannes** 

Len Marsico

Maeve Mason

Christopher Matranga

**Emily Medine** 

Rafic Minkara

Nancy Mohn

Betsy Monseu

Mike Nasi

Sittichai Natesakhawat

Kenneth Nemeth

Karen Obenshain

Mary Eileen O'Keefe

Fred Palmer

John Parkes

**Caryl Pfeiffer** 

Gavin Pickenpaugh

Ellie Potter

Angila Retherford

Andy Roberts

Charlene Russell

Tom Sarkus

Todd Savage

John Schultes

Fan Shi

Carolyn Slaughter

Scott Smouse

Mike Sorensen

Scott Stallard

Hiranthie Stanford

**Conrad Stewart** 

Judd Swift

Matthew Targett

**Richard Teel** 

Brian Thompson

Kanchan Upadhyay

Jennifer Weidman

Matthew Weisenberger

Bill West

Warren Williams

# APPENDIX B – VOTE TALLY

Member	I AGREE THAT THE REPORT SHOULD BE FINALIZED	I DISAGREE THAT THE REPORT SHOULD BE FINALIZED	I ABSTAIN FROM VOTING ON THE REPORT	NO RESPONSE GIVEN
Randall Atkins	1			
Barbara F. Altizer	1			
Judd Swift	1			
Janet Gellici				
Joe Giove				
Carolyn Slaughter			1	
Bob Bibb	1			
Duane Ankney				
Wanda Burget	1			
Danny Gray	1			
Richard Bajura	1			
Warren Williams				
Betsy Monseu	1			
Sheila Glesmann	1			
Bill Hoback				
Kaeci Daniels			1	
Mary Anne Alvin				
Snelson	1			
Frank Burke				
Ayaka Jones				
James Branscomb				
John Duddy	1			
Matthew Targett	1			
Mary Anne Alvin				
Andy Roberts	1			
Jeff Erikson			1	
David Denton	1			
Alfred Brown	1			
Dennis James	1			
Sittichai Natesakhawat				
Sujit Das				
Robert Finley	1			
Tyler Hamman	1			
Rod Eggert	1			
Hans Daniels			1	
Bob Mannes	1			

Member	I AGREE THAT THE REPORT SHOULD BE	I DISAGREE THAT THE REPORT SHOULD BE	I ABSTAIN FROM VOTING ON THE REPORT	NO RESPONSE GIVEN
Nancy Mohn	FINALIZED 1	FINALIZED		
Karen Obenshain	1			
Michael Kaplan	1			
Yuan Gao	1			
Rick Boyd	1			
Fan Shi	1			
Katherine Dombrowski	1			
Evan Granite	<b>1</b>			
Shawn Flynn				
Steve Conway	1			
Lisa Bradley	1			
Greg	1			
Mary Eileen O'Keefe	1			
Duane Ankney	1			
Michael Klein	1			
Emily Medine	1			
Kim Johnson	1			
Donna Anderson	1			
John Schultes	1			
Vello Kuuskraa	<b>1</b>			
Scott Teel	1			
Maohong Fan	1			
Bill West	1			
Mike Sorensen	1			
Jack Parkes	1			
John Craddock				
Fred Eames				
Jacqueline Bird	1			
Jacqueline Bird				
Rich Axelbaum	1			
Charlene Russell	1			
Nicola Ferralis	1			
Caryl Pfeiffer	<b>1</b>			
Holly Krutka				
Stephen Lee				
Rafic Minkara	1			
Lisa Bradley	<b>1</b>			