NATIONAL COAL COUNCIL 2020 FALL MEETING SUMMARY OF MEETING

October 23, 2020

The National Coal Council convened for its fall meeting virtually via WebEx, commencing on October 23, 2020, at 1:00 p.m. ET.

ATTENDEES

For a complete breakdown of attendance, see Appendix A.

CALL TO ORDER/OPENING REMARKS

The Honorable Steve Winberg, Assistant Secretary of Fossil Energy and the Designated Federal Official for the National Coal Council, called the meeting to order. (Deputy Designated Federal Officials Tom Sarkus and Joe Giove were also present throughout the WebEx meeting.)

He noted that this meeting is being held in accordance with the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA), and the Regulations that govern that Act. He mentioned that the meeting is being recorded, and the recording will be made available after the meeting.

He provided the Welcome Address to the group, and thanked attendees, keynote speakers, and the Honorable Mark Menezes, the Deputy Secretary of Energy.

MOTION

To Adopt Agenda

The Honorable Steve Winberg asked for a motion to adopt the Agenda. A motion was provided and seconded. All members were in favor. No members opposed.

ANTITRUST ADVISORY

Janet Gellici provided the Antitrust Advisory on behalf of Eric Hutchins, the Legal Counsel for NCC Inc. He affirmed that the NCC is a Federal Advisory Committee to the Secretary of Energy and membership conifers no immunity from federal or state antitrust laws. A copy of the general understanding could be sent to members, the NCC would be abiding by the antitrust guidelines, and if a member felt uncomfortable with the conversation, they could indicate so by using the "Raise Hand" function.

INTRODUCTION

Danny Gray gave a brief biography of the Honorable Mark Menezes' responsibilities and accomplishments, along with an introduction.

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY KEYNOTE PRESENTATION

The Honorable Mark Menezes provided the keynote presentation. He recognized the Honorable Steve Winberg and the NCC members' service to the Department of Energy (DOE). He then proceeded by explaining the importance and benefits of coal to the industry. He talked about some of the projects at the DOE related to coal.

Deputy Secretary Mark Menezes then stopped comments to take questions.

ELECTION OF NCC CHAIR AND VICE-CHAIR

The Honorable Steve Winberg reminded attendees that official NCC members are eligible to vote and non-members are not. The proposed candidate for the NCC Chair was Randall Atkins, and for NCC Vice-Chair was John Ward. The poll remained open for 15 minutes for members to vote. Ballots were to be counted and winners announced later on during the program.

INTRODUCTION

Randall Atkins gave a brief biography of Dr. Jefferey Grossman, the Department Head for the Department of Materials Science & Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Note: Dr. Grossman dialed in late.

BREAK

Attendees were released for a 10-minute break, and an Oak Ridge National Laboratory video was played. The group took a break at approximately 1:35 p.m. and reconvened at approximately 1:45 p.m.

INDUSTRY KEYNOTE PRESENTATION

Dr. Jeffrey Grossman presented the industry keynote presentation. He discussed "Coal to Products Developments."

Dr. Grossman then stopped comments to take questions.

ANNOUNCEMENT OF NCC CHAIR AND VICE-CHAIR

The Honorable Steve Winberg announced the election results, that the 2021 NCC Chair is Randall Atkins and Vice-Chair is John Ward.

INTRODUCTION

Janet Gellici gave a brief biography of Shannon Banaga, Esq., the Managing Director of Strategic Communications and Ken Ditzel, the Managing Director of Economic Consulting at FTI Consulting.

INDUSTRY PRESENTATION

Shanon Banaga, Esq. and Ken Ditzel presented the joint industry presentation. They discussed on topic titled "The Future of the Energy Sector: Political and Economic Outlook Post-COVID/Post-Election."

Shannon Banaga, Esq. presented the first part of the presentation, and Ken Ditzel presented the last part of the presentation. They then stopped comments to take questions.

PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

No comments from the public were received.

CLOSING REMARKS

The Honorable Steve Winberg thanked participants, sponsors, and attendees.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 3:15 p.m.

I hereby certify that, to the best of my knowledge, the foregoing minutes are accurate and complete. The minutes were completed after-the-fact based on transcription of the National Coal Council Fall Meeting, October 23, 2020.

Thomas Sarkus

Deputy Designated Federal Officer #1

Nom Sorbus

National Coal Council

February 20, 2021

Joseph Du in II

Joseph Giove III

Deputy Designated Federal Officer #2

National Coal Council

Randall W. Atkins

Chairman National Coal Council

APPENDIX A – ATTENDEES

Attendees

Thomas Adams

Brian Albin

Barbara Altizer

Brian J. Anderson

Donna Anderson

Ato Andoh

Rodney Andrews

Shannon Angielski

Michael Antkowski

Randall Atkins

Rich Axelbaum

Peter Balash

Shannon Banaga

John Bauer

Wendy Beach

Jason Begger

Steven Benson

Jacqueline Bird

Michelle Bloodworth

Rick Boyd

Lisa Bradley

Charlie Bullinger

Wanda Burget

Randy Christmann

Donnie Colston

Dan Connell

Steve Conway

Donald Cotchen

Stacey Dahl

Kenneth Ditzel

Rich Duafala

John Duddy

Fred Eames

Bill Easter

Rod Eggert

Todd Eisenbud

Ron Eller

Richard Esposito

Maohong Fan

José Figueroa

David Flannery

Luke Fritz

Don Gaston

Janet Gellici

Joe Giove

Danny Gray

Kim Gray

Sallie Greenberg

Jeff Grossman

Neeraj Gupta

Tyler Hamman

John Harju

Clark Harrison

Robert Hershey

Charles Hill

Bill Hoback

Robert Hoenes

Mike Holmes

Louis Hrkman

Eric Hutchins

Dennis James

Kim Johnson

Mike Jones

Prakash Joshi

Casey Kaptur

Michael Karmis

Angelos Kokkinos

Mike Korb

Holly Krutka

Vello Kuuskraa

Taylor Kuykendall

Douglas Lempke

Carol Loman

Len Marsico

Howard Mcclintic

Charles Mcconnell

Charles Mcneil

Emily Medine

Mark Menezes

Greg Merle

Lee Meyer

Nancy Mohn

Nadia Mokhtar

Betsy Monseu

Andre Moreira

Ram Narula

Karen Obenshain

Jerry Oliver

Rudy Olson

Athena Panagos

Sean Plasynski

Blair Priest

Robert Purgert

Heather Quedenfeld

Emily Regis

Angila Retherford

Tom Sarkus

Todd Savage

John Schultes

Constance Senior

Travis Shultz

Ana Smiths

Charles Snavely

Hiranthie Stanford

Bruce Stevens

Cj Stewart

Jeremy Sussman

Judd Swift

Shane Teramana

Beth (Hardy) Valiaho

John Ward

Sharla Wells

Ben Wernette

Briggs White

Steve Winberg

James Wood

Greg Workman

Brad Yeatts